Arno Schuitemaker


About Arno Schuitemaker

Arno Schuitemaker was born in 1976 in The Netherlands and is based in Amsterdam. His creations include EXIT (2009), TIDE (2011), The Fifteen Project | DUET (2012), I is an Other (2014), Together_till the end (2015), and the trilogy for three performers WHILE WE STRIVE (2015), I will wait for you (2016) and If You Could See Me Now (2017). His most recent and largest scale work to date The Way You Sound Tonight premiered at the Holland Festival in June 2018.

Using ongoing, perpetual movement, his perception-based works speak about life and shed light on the times we live in. In collaboration with various performers, composers and lighting designers, his performances become true immersive encounters—compelling, transcendent, intense, each work having its own perspective and identity.

The projects have been presented at renowned contemporary dance festivals and theaters in over 15 countries across Europe, and beyond. He is a winner of the Dioraphte Encouragement Award and of the 2nd jury prize at [re]connaissance 2016. tanz magazine selected him as one of the most promising choreographers in their yearbook 2017 and by Dance Europe he was mentioned as being “one of the leading dance makers in The Netherlands.”

Between 2013 and 2016, he received multiyear support by one of his main coproducers DansBrabant (Tilburg) and he was an artist-in-residence with ICK Amsterdam from January 2015 through April 2017. Other organizations that support(ed) his work are the Holland Festival, Chaillot - Théâtre national de la Danse (Paris), CN D Centre national de la danse (Pantin), La Place de la Danse – CDCN Toulouse / Occitanie (Toulouse), O Espaço do Tempo (Montemor-o-Novo), HELLERAU – Europäisches Zentrum der Künste (Dresden), Dansehallerne (Copenhagen), The Duncan Dance Research Center (Athens), Tanzquartier (Vienna), Ballet National de Marseille, KLAP Maison pour la danse (Marseille), Le Pacifique CDCN Grenoble ARA and CCN2 Centre chorégraphique national de Grenoble.


The work of Arno Schuitemaker is produced by Stichting SHARP/ArnoSchuitemaker. Members of the board are: Mrs. Benien van Berkel (chair), Mr. Roeland Dekkers (secretary), Ms. Elsbeth Habets (treasurer) and Mrs. Hakima Nouzi. SHARP/ArnoSchuitemaker has an ANBI Charitable status. Our RSIN number is 820422939. Contact us here. Read our yearly report 2017 (in Dutch). View our Chamber of Commerce extract. The members of the board do not receive any fees.

SHARP/ArnoSchuitemaker receives multi-year funding by AFK (Amsterdam Fund for the Arts).

Photo: Bowie Verschuuren